Thursday, 31 January 2013

Funnies of the week #3




Sunday, 27 January 2013

Regular Rant #3

2012 saw us visit Dunelm Mill for the first time, the store is is Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, it was one of those shops that sold lots of thing at reasonable prices, in fact we shopped there a couple of times, then towards the end of last year they opened a new one in Cambridge, about 5 miles from home, brilliant, and we visited there a couple of times, especially before Christmas.

Then today, we needed a few things from town and I had ordered something from Argos, a few units down from Dunelm, we decided to pop in and get a few bits, these few bits came to over £50.00, oh dear, anyway, I digress, whilst in there we decided to have a snack for lunch, they have a "nice" coffee shop, so off we went, teh shelves were virtually bare, all they had was Cornish or cheese and onion pasties, no other sandwiches etc.   we asked and were told they had nothing else except a jacket potato, no thank you.

One was heated up, and mine was cold, I prefer mine that way, so we had two pasties two coffees and a packet of crisps, nearly £9.00, now if that was not taking the piss, especially as the coffee mugs were very thin but high to make out your getting a decent drink, over a third of it was froth, then as I started to eat, the bloody pasty was frozen, what on earth are they doing trying to poison people, or break their teeth, either way I wouldn't have been too happy.

I went back to the counter and expressed surprise that the pasties on sale were still frozen, I was surprised to to be told that they were not to be eaten cold and had to be heated up, um, since when, if this was the case why were we not told so at point of purchase, because it is not a policy, that's why, where was all the other food, there were shelves upon shelves empty.

I got the food back and it was stodgy and not really that nice, I wont mention the fact the lettuce was brown, oops, I did, anyway, who loses out, well Dunelm does, from a lack of sales in the coffee  shop, to poor customer service and what that that may lead to, not only did we have coffee that was third froth and very thin cups, so you got a couple of gulps (if your lucky), to frozen food being served up, not good.






Apologies

Please accept my apologies for sending the previous thread, I had a senior moment and press the wrong buttons, it was not to have been shared, however have a read if you want, it was from my personal blog rather than the motoring one I also produce,

Once again apologies.

Thursday, 24 January 2013

Holiday booked, cant wait to get away

Well, it's that time of the year, we have booked our holiday, we booked through Thomson holidays, we are booked to go to Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt in March, so not long now to go, it is an all in hotel, so food and drink are included, if teh food is like it was teh last time we were in Egypt, then we will be ok, and wont get Delhi belly, or what ever the Egyptian version is.

The hotel is one of their Sensatori hotels so it is a little more special, we have booked a room that has, instead of a path to the pool, it has a swim up channel, like the picture below,

So all we need to do is walk out of our room, walk a couple of steps and hey presto were in the water, and a short swim takes us to the main pool, we are only going for a week, and not having a cruise this year, we are however having our usual "cheapie" break, we collected the tokens from The Sun and booked a five day trip to Scotland, where we will go and visit Concorde, the Royal Yacht Britannia and Edinburgh Castle, If we have any spare time I would not mind going to Archery Edinburgh, but I doubt I would be able to pull the bow back, but I am sure Andy would enjoy it, we will have to see if there is any spare time. 

We have also booked a few days away down south, so we can visit the Concorde at Yeovil, Catherine Hallett who I worked with in my last job works there so it will be nice to see her if she is working, it will be a surprise if nothing else, we will also visit The Haynes Motor Museum and the Motor Museum at Beaulieu, I am really looking forward to this trip.

I am not sure if we will be doing anything else this year, maybe a day out to a Theatre in London or another weekend away, but we have enough to be getting on with, at least they give me something to be looking forward to.

Sunday, 20 January 2013

Funnies of the week #2


Yes, you guessed it, a new breed of animals!



They are referred to as “homo slackass-erectus” created by natural genetic downward evolution through constant spineless posturing and spasmatic upper limb gestures, which new research has shown to cause shorter legs and an inability to ambulate other than in an awkward shuffling gait.
The "drag-crotch" shape also seems to effect brain function.
Expect no eye contact or intelligent verbal communication.
Unfortunately most are highly fertile.






CAUTION RUDE JOKE BELOW

Scientific Research Several years ago, Great Britain funded a study to determine why the head on a mans’ penis is larger than the shaft. The study took two years and cost over $1.2 million. The study concluded that the reason the head of a man’s penis is larger than the shaft was to provide the man with more pleasure during sex. After the results were published.

France decided to conduct their own study on the same subject. They were convinced that the results of the British study was incorrect. After three years of research at a cost of in excess of $2 million, the French researchers concluded that the head of a man’s penis is larger than the shaft to provide the woman with more pleasure during sex. When the results of the French study were released, Australia decided to conduct their own study. 

The Aussies didnt really trust British or French studies. So, after nearly three hours of intensive research and a cost of right around $75.00 ( 3 cases of beer), the Aussie study was complete. They concluded that the reason the head on a man’s penis is larger than the shaft is to prevent your hand from flying off and hitting you in the forehead 

I hope you were not too offended

Tuesday, 15 January 2013

Too much sadness

As the days, weeks and months pass by, I see my hair growing increasing grey, the wrinkles are appearing, and my illnesses are not getting better, I try so hard each day to be positive and to carry on with a smile, but with each passing day it becomes harder and harder.

Small chinks of light occasionally appear, a day out here a lunch there, but they only highlight the level of my own mood and self esteem when I am at home, alone, this alone is where my sadness is prevalent, the many hours at home just doing, nothing, waiting for the next email to arrive, which is another spam email, I will never get that $50 million from a random African country, I don't have the $750 to send them in the first place.

I am, increasingly finding it more and more difficult to get out of bed, the pain first thing so intense, I take my pills, and end up rattling there are so many, I know they are there to help, but they have gone beyond help now, they have become a necessity, I can feel it that, if I forget to take them, my body starts to say, "oi, you idiot, you forgot your pills, and we need them now" and I can tell that needing and wanting are two differing things.

I enjoy few things, I collect, I write, I read, however, one thing I don't enjoy is breaking down at the slightest thing, it could be anything at any time  from watching a comedy to a film, to reading a book, to playing a game, no reason, it just happens, lasts a few seconds and then that's it till the next time.

As I sit here, I contemplate the things that have happened to me, from being made redundant, to being offered a job, to being attacked, finding true friendship and love (getting soppy now), I truly am in a better place now, than I have ever been in, but somehow that's not enough, I wouldn't give up my life (apart from pain) for anything now, it's the best it has ever been.

What's missing, well, work for one thing, I just want to get back to work, to do something that I can take my mind off the Dr's, hospital, pain clinics, pills and so on, unfortunately that's not going to happen, for one thing I could not guarantee that I would be able to attend when they wanted me, some days I am hardly able to wander across to the post box, let alone concentrate on a job.

It is getting time for Andy to come home, so I will close now and tidy up, been sorting some things out, I have been on the computer all day today so I will finish and have an hour or so away from this, yeah right :-)



Saturday, 12 January 2013

Funnies of the week #1


Funnies of the week, I will post some funnies each week, they may be pictures, video or some jokes, or a combination off or all, well who knows, I don't  where was I, Oh yes, funnies, this week some pictures, as it is easier and I have after all only just thought of it, if you have any funnies, pics, video's or jokes you want to have posted, just sent them to me and I will post them the following week, as long as they are not too bad.

No offence is intended to anyone, it is after all meant as innocent fun, I apologise now if anyone is ever offended.




Thats it for now..... back next week with more.......

Thursday, 10 January 2013

Regular Rant #2

I am sorry that there is another rant so close to the last one, but I have been sitting here, like always, and the adverts on the TV are really getting me so angry, what adverts am I getting so pissed of at, is the go compare ones with the fat git, no, is it the ones that advertise various bingo sites, noooo, is it the ones that want to buy your car at a seriously undervalued price, yes I know they do I checked, no, it those effing ones that want you to take out loans at pathetic rates.

I loath Wonga, as that witchy woman on Dragons Den says, it makes my teeth itch, I get so angry that the advertisers use kind old people to advertise loans (albeit puppets) it makes children who watch think that grandparents say it is acceptable to borrow money you don't have and then have to pay back the money at, in excess of 4,000% (4,000% is  for another loan company that advertises on TV)

4,000%, how the hell have they gotten away with it, Dick Turpin would have been embarrassed to have done that, as far as I am concerned it is legalised theft, the TV companies who have no morals or ethics are happy to take the money for showing these ad's and don't care that people are getting into debt, debt's, that at this time of the year, are higher than at any other time of the year.

With the combination of the gift adverts throughout December, i noticed (whether factual or not i cant be sure) that there seemed to be more of these so called helpful companies. helpful my arse, if you cant afford it, save up or do without, but for gods sake do not get involved with these thieves, you will end up deeper in debt and then that's when the real trouble begins.

Some people, in fact I bet nearly everyone is not aware that back in 2010 the government had the option of capping these loans, making them viable, if still higher than the banks and building societies, a least not as high as some are now, but NO, they decided not to, why, well they stated that "the payday lenders serve customers not able to be served by mainstream lenders and might discourage lenders and competition" what a load of bull.

The government should step in NOW and stop these fun/fluffy  adverts, not allow them on the television until after 10pm, make then show the APR's in large print, not tiny at the bottom of the page for one second, if I had my way they would be banned altogether.

I know there are a lot of people that would be unable to get a loan from a bank or BS, they have been blacklisted for some reason, but please, if you have no other choice, please please please read the small print, make sure you know exactly what the APR is, and how much you are paying back, find out if you get discounts if you can pay it back early, or if there are charges for doing that.

Not that I am advertising a loan, as wouldn't do that, but when you see these 4,000%+ loans you have to then look at the other end, the cheapest I found was 5.1% APR from the Clydesdale bank. this is an online personal loan, a humongous difference, but at the end of the day, I say if you cant afford it, save up. 

Tuesday, 8 January 2013

Regular Rant #1 UPDATED 12/01/2013 NEW UPDATE 27/01/2013

Forgive me if I offend anyone, but I was so pissed off on Sunday I felt i needed to have a rant, I am sure that I will have more over the next year or so, and will vent my frustrations here.

Anyway, back to Sunday, well the previous week to start with, Mary, my Mother-in-law had two old televisions that were not digital compatible, so they need a sky box or freeview box so they can get programmes, the TV's work fine, and are in brilliant condition, so she decided rather than throw them out, give them to charity.

 The British Heart Foundation was chosen and she called them to see if they would be interested, they were and they agreed to come and collect them on Sunday morning, they duly arrived as promised, and the collection guy refused to take them, saying that they do not take black televisions.

I'm sorry "you don't take black televisions", why in the hell not, well, apparently they prefer to have the silver one, huh, so for aesthetic reasons they wont take two perfectly good condition perfectly working televisions, so it seems that a charity business is now becoming picky in what they take.

What in the hell does it matter, I am sure there are 100's of people out there that would love to have a television, that don't care if it is black, silver, green, pink, well, maybe not pink, but you know what I mean, with so many people in this country that are below the  poverty level, cant afford the basics, and rely on the generosity of others for the necessities in life, to be given or purchase for a nominal sum a perfectly good TV is a great thing.

There is nothing on the BHF website that says they do not want black TV's, nothing at all, my M-I-L was not told anything like this when she contacted them, and to be honest every TV you buy these days is black, so what's there problem.

It seems that the BHF is picky and only want things they deem as appropriate and not what is needed by us the public that can use them, So, what does she do now, well, she is offering them free to a good home via a card in a local shop window, if then they do not go, well, they will be binned, and what an awful dreadful waste that will be.

Shame on you British Heart Foundation for being to posh for your own good and not considering those that are really in need.

UPDATE

Well, after a week of communication between the BHF and myself, I find that it is not there policy to refuse any TV that falls in there acceptability range, mainly a SCART socket, which they have, they have apologised to me and the MIL, and are going to arrange for the TV's to be collected, so a win for Joe Public, at least now someone who needs a cheap to buy TV can get a good one.

Also, the guy that post as anonymous, can you please send me a PM via Facebook, I have some info for you.

Unfortunately another poor UPDATE 

Am i surprised to writing this, no, not really, in fact I am surprised I did not write it earlier, The BHF agreed to collect the two televisions, a lady called Nicola was supposed to speak with my MIL to sort it out, but guess what nothing, last Tuesday my MIL called the BHF and after press 1 press 2 press 3 and so on, she left a message, and no one has bothered to call her back, I wont say she was upset or anything, because i think she, like me were resigned to the fact that the BHF just don't care.

How a charity, that relies on the generosity of the general public to continue the work they do, can treat a pensioner who is giving them two televisions, is beyond me, I find that this charity is one that deserves not to be supported if this is how generous donations are received, to be told that they do not refuse anything that falls within there guidelines, and then they cant be arsed to collect them.

We were going to have a good clear out  and we have lots of things that could be given to charity but I can assure you that NONE of them will be going to the British Heart Foundation, am I being harsh, god no, people of a certain age have different values to younger people, they believe in using things until they break, rather than getting new every five minutes.

My grandmother was the same, if she had something that she no longer needed she would try to give it to someone before throwing it away, because that's the way they were brought up, and for this situation to be made worse by sheer rudeness on the part of the BHF towards my MIL by ignoring her message and not bothering to follow up on there original call, Its a shame I am not running that part of the charity, because the person who is running it now, surely has no idea how to.




Thursday, 3 January 2013

Goodbye 2012 Hello 2013

Well, 2012 has finished, it was not the best year I have had, but hopefully 2013 will be better, but I am not holding my breath.

As the new year came to an end, we celebrated it by sitting in bed, one reading and one playing pool on an iPad, with only a few seconds to go we sat and watched the London fireworks and then fell asleep, new years day we were supposed to go to Andy's other brothers, but through illness this was called off, shame as we were looking forward to it.

Instead, we invited Mary, Andy's mum, over for the day, we had a good day, just chilled and watched telly, how easy is that, no stress or hassle, mind you the telly was crap, but then this Christmas has not been that good for TV programmes, at least Dr Who was the highlight for me.

As each day passes i feel that my life is ebbing away, just waiting for the next Dr's visit or hospital appointment, I want to get out of this rut but it is not easy to do, unfortunately my mental state is not the best, and i am having my last mental nurse visit today, I will state that my nurse is not mental, but that's what i call it, her name is Fredericka, sometimes i fell that she does not know what she is doing, she spends most of the time talking about what we will do next time, and then next time we dont do it... grrrrr.

like I said, today is my last one with her, but apparently she is going to put me forward for a more in depth therapy, I am not sure about how I feel about that, we will have to see, I can keep having my "moments" (my term for feeling low or depressed), they have been quite heavy lately.

I know that i must do all I can to help myself, and I am actively trying, I have purchased a book, WOW, I hear you all say..LOL.. but it is a special diet book, as I know i need to lose some weight, and this, I hope, will help, or maybe a few days of novovirus will help me :-), once i can start to lose weight hopefully this will ease the pain in my hips and back, however the arthritis in my hips wont go away but it might ease a bit, as for my back, hopefully the Dr will get me some one on one physio training to help there.

One highlight of the last few days is we have decided where we would like to go on our "cheapie" holiday, we just need to get the tokens from The Sun newspaper, we have taken one of these every year for years, and always take Mary with us, this year, hopefully, we can get the holiday park in Scotland, as Andy wants to visit the Concorde, Britannia and Edinburgh castle, so fingers crossed once we get the code words we can book and get it.

Time to close now, took my pills about an hour ago and I feel very weird, head is swimming and eyes are a bit weird, anyway, chat soon....